A rich history

The Netball Section of Christchurch Ladies’ Club was formed in 1950 by Almena Theobald from ex-pupils of Christchurch School, Ipswich. It became an open Ladies’ Club when the school closed in 1961. We are very proud of our rich history and are thrilled to have Almena Theobald, who remains Club Chairman.

Over our 68 year history, the club has enjoyed many ‘highlights’ and accolades,some of which are listed below:

  • The late Pat Taylor, MBE was President of the International Federation of
  • Christchurch appeared in the Guinness Book of Records in 1985 for winning
    the Ipswich & District Netball League for 25 successive years (1959-1983).
  • Supplied ball girls at an International event at Wembley Pool Arena in 1983.
  • 3 of our players have represented England – Madeleine Dwan (record of 68 appearances for England between 1975-83), Rita Adams nee Flude and Judith Annandale nee Wilson (schoolgirl).
  • At the 1991 World Tournament held in Sydney, Australia, Cheryl Eade represented Hong Kong.
  • Both Almena Theobald and Susan Bailey have been recipients of the England Netball Muriel McNally Award for outstanding work at grassroots level in 1982 and 2002 respectively.
  • Christchurch Netball Club was the first club in Suffolk to gain England Netball Accreditation in 2002 plus Sport England Clubmark.
  • Christchurch were acclaimed by Ipswich Borough Council in 2010 as Ipswich Sports Club of the Year.
  • Almena Theobald was made an Honorary Life Member of the East Region in 2017. She is also an Honorary Life Vice President of the Suffolk Netball Association.
  • The following members have held the position of President for the Suffolk Netball Association – Pat Taylor MBE, Almena Theobald, Chris Harpham and Susan Bailey (current).
  • Alisi Nawele was selected to represent Fiji in 2017.